Tennis Has Five Individuals and Team Earn ITA Academic Awards for 2014-15

FHSU Sports Information Department

Fort Hays State Tennis had a very impressive year in the classroom yet again in 2014-15 as five individuals earned the ITA Scholar-Athlete Award and the team was named an ITA All-Academic Team. Only 71 schools from NCAA Division II earned the All-Academic Team distinction. Fort Hays State and Southwest Baptist were the only two schools from the MIAA to earn the honor.

Individuals earning the Scholar-Athlete Award included Camille Caron-Bedard, Katie Hipp, Jessica Johnson, Michelle Miller, and Reinette Strydom. In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Miller, senior from Ellinwood, Kan., Strydom, sophomore from Holdrege, Neb., and Johnson, freshman from Larned, Kan., all had perfect 4.0 cumulative grade-point averages at the end of the 2014-15 academic year. They were among the nine FHSU athletes to earn the MIAA Academic Excellence Award. All seven individuals on the team earned MIAA Academic Honor Roll status earlier this year. All seven members of the team currently have cumulative grade-point averages above 3.2.

The ITA All-Academic Team Award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). Fort Hays State had an amazing 3.8 GPA as a team.

%d bloggers like this: