Bevis collects more postseason honors


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Alec Bevis of Fort Hays State Men’s Soccer was named to the United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-America Team on Thursday (Dec. 16). He is the first player in Fort Hays State soccer history, men or women, to receive this honor. Bevis was one of just 15 players nationally named to this team.

Bevis adds this honor to an impressive collection of postseason honors in 2021. He was already named to the D2CCA All-America Third Team and received CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team honors this season. He was the GAC/MIAA Defensive Player of the Year and was named a GAC/MIAA Distinguished Scholar-Athlete. In the classroom, Bevis has maintained a 3.92 GPA as a Chemistry major at FHSU.

On the field Bevis was FHSU’s team captain and helped Fort Hays State make its ninth-straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament, the nation’s longest streak of consecutive national tournament appearances. He anchored the back line of the Tiger defense that allowed just an 0.89 goals against average for the season, helped the team to eight shutouts, and allowed no more than one goal in 18 of 23 matches. Along with his All-America honors this year, Bevis is a three-time all-conference selection, and a two-time all-region selection.

Student-athletes on this year’s Scholar All-America Teams will be formally acknowledged for their accomplishments on the field and in the classroom at the United Soccer Coaches All-America Ceremony & Reception on Saturday, Jan. 22, 2022 at the Kansas City Convention Center in conjunction with the United Soccer Coaches Convention.

Pos Name Class School Major GPA Hometown
K Alexandre Durand Jr. University of Wisconsin-Parkside Business and Marketing 3.5 Paris, France
D Patrick Allan Gr. Colorado School of Mines Master’s in Civil and Environmental Engineering 4 Stillwater, Minn.
D Alec Bevis Jr. Fort Hays State University Chemistry 3.9 Wichita, Kan.
D Henry Bruer-Schmadalla Jr. University of Wisconsin-Parkside Sports Management 3.4 Stuttgart, Germany
D Izaac Zausch Jr. Biola University Business Administration 3.6 Liberty Hill, Texas
M Domenic Baumann Sr. Lewis University Business Administration 3.8 Westphalia, Germany
M Sergio DelCastillo Jr Gannon University International Management and Sport Management and Marketing 3.5 Madrid, Spain
M Gregoire Diep Jr. Azusa Pacific University Business Administration 3.9 Munich, Germany
M Mirza Hasecic Jr. Maryville University (Mo.) Sports Management 3.6 Grindavik, Iceland
M Angel Lopez Sr. Southern Nazarene University Business Administartion 3.5 Colony, Texas
M Tom Marriott Sr. Lander University Business Management and Marketing 3.7 Nottingham, United Kingdom
M Chandler O’ Dwyer Gr. Christian Brothers University Business Administration 3.8 Lingfield, England
M Beckham Sibiski Gr. Lock Haven University Secondary Education-Mathematics 3.9 Kutztown, Pa.
F Geo Rios Jr. Clayton State University Accounting 3.9 Lawrenceville, Ga.
F Jacques Fokam Sandeu Jr. Coker University Business Administration 3.9 Paris, France

National Scholar Player of the Year: Beckham Sibiski, Lock Haven University

%d bloggers like this: