Bevis named to All-America third team


POMONA, Calif. – Fort Hays State senior defender Alec Bevis was selected to the D2CCA All-America Team for the 2021 season, announced on Wednesday (Dec. 8). The 2021 GAC/MIAA Defender of the Year was voted as one of the top 12 defenders in all of NCAA Division II, earning a third-team selection. The D2CCA All-America Team is voted on by Sports Information Directors and Athletic Media Relations Directors nationally in NCAA Division II.

Bevis was instrumental in Fort Hays State making its ninth-straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament, the nation’s longest streak of consecutive national tournament appearances. As the Tiger captain, he anchored the back line of the Tiger defense that allowed just an 0.89 goals against average for the season. He helped the team to eight shutouts and allow no more than one goal in 18 of 23 matches. As the top defender in the GAC/MIAA, Bevis continues to rake in accolades, now a three-time All-GAC/MIAA selection, a two-time D2CCA All-Region selection, and he was the 2019 GAC/MIAA Freshman of the Year.

Fort Hays State has now produced a D2CCA (formerly Daktronics from 2011-15) All-America selection in nine out of 10 full seasons contested (there was no team in 2020-21 due to the COVID-19 pandemic). The only year FHSU did not have one was in 2012, which was the program’s second year of existence. Bevis is the third defender in the program’s history to receive a D2CCA All-America selection as Luis Torres earned it twice in 2016 and 2018, and Sergio Villalba earned it in 2019.

Pos Name School Yr Hometown
GK Connor Durant Colorado Mesa Jr. Westminster, Colo.
F Louis Silva Georgian Court Sr. Union, N.J.
F Rade Novakovich Wisconsin-Parkside Jr. Muskego, Wis.
F Shawn Genus Wilmington (Del.) Sr. St. Elizabeth, Jamaica
F Trevor Amann Midwestern State Sr. Westminster, Colo.
MF Alex Andersson UCCS Sr. Helsingborg, Sweden
MF Mikkel Goling Young Harris Fr. Copenhagen, Denmark
MF Sergio Diaz Post (Conn.) Sr. Madrid, Spain
MF Tom Marriott Lander Sr. Nottingham, England
D Carlos Ferrando Felis Franklin Pierce Sr. Tavernes de la Valldigna, Spain
D Toby Sims Chowan Sr. Tuxford, England
D Yesin van der Pluijm Young Harris Jr. Rotterdam, Netherlands
D Morten Bjoershol Cal State LA Sr. Oslo, Norway
Pos Name School Yr Hometown
GK Alvaro Unanua Cal State LA Jr. Pamplona, Spain
F Gustavo Ferrari San Francisco State Jr. Alberta, Canada
F Matteo Costa Flagler College Sr. Lucca, Italy
F Alejandro Steinwascher Indianapolis Sr. Sterling Heights, Mich.
F Sidney Warden Mercyhurst Sr. London, England
MF Vitor Gomes District of Columbia Sr. Fortaleza, Brazil
MF Thaylan Silva Carson-Newman Sr. Sáo Paulo, Brazil
MF Beckham Sibiski Lock Haven Sr. Kutztown, Pa.
MF Max Ludwig Parkside Sr. Stuttgart, Germany
D Lucas King Colorado School of Mines Sr. Seattle, Wash.
D Makel Rasheed Indianapolis Jr. Rockville, Md.
D Ethan Anderson Colorado Mesa Jr. Highlands Ranch, Colo.
D Alex Estrada-Avila Davis & Elkins Sr. Ellicott City, Md.
Pos Name School Yr Hometown
GK Kosta Maniatis Franklin Pierce Jr. Montreal, Quebec
F Saad Maziane Young Harris Fr. Casablanca, Morocco
F Daniel Cerezo Davis & Elkins Jr. Madrid, Spain
F Alex Mejia Seattle Pacific Sr. Seattle, Wash.
F Pau Santanach New Haven Fr. Barcelona, Spain
MF Harri Lovett Chowan Jr. Wrexham, Wales
MF David Elizaga Cal State LA Sr. Madrid, Spain
MF Sergio Del Castillo Gannon Jr. Madrid, Spain
MF Alexis Ledoux Charleston So. La Talaudiere, France
D Alec Bevis Fort Hays State Sr. Wichita, Kan.
D Marvin Zott Illinois-Springfield Sr. Bernburg, Germany
D Matthias Kuhn Mercy Jr. Viernheim, Germany
D Quinn Thompson Young Harris Fr. Hull, England

Ron Lenz National Player of the Year: Rade Novakovich (Jr., F, University of Wisconsin-Parkside)

Sound Off!

%d bloggers like this: