FHSU’s VALUE program welcomes nine mentors

FHSU University Relations and Marketing

HAYS, Kan. — The Voss Advanced Leadership Undergraduate Experience at Fort Hays State University added nine mentors for Fort Hays State University students to the program. The mentors will guide VALUE scholars through their chosen project tracks.

Two scholars chose to conduct undergraduate research projects. Dr. Brittany Adams-Pope, an assistant professor at the University of Louisville, Louisville, Ky., will mentor Kaiti Dinges, Dodge City senior. Dr. Dan Jenkins, an assistant professor at University of Southern Maine, Portland, Maine, will mentor Chance Bulmer, Hays senior.

Four scholars will pursue a project in the corporate track. Jake Weaver, human resources generalist at AGCO Corporation, Beloit; Regan Ochs, executive administrator and marketing specialist, Adams, Brown, Beran and Ball, Great Bend; Daron Jamison, finance business development and strategy manager, Nex-Tech Wireless, Hays; and Karl Klein, director of Small Business Development Center, Washburn University, Topeka, will mentor Ali Sedbrook, Thornton, Colo., senior, Jade Singleton-Reich, Denver junior, Ashley Templeton, Wilson junior, and Emilie Atherton, Wichita senior, respectively.

Three scholars  chose the civic track. Kelley Parker, executive director for Jana’s Campaign, Colorado Springs, Colo., will mentor Lindsay Smith, Wichita senior. Jordyn Sanders, recovery specialist, High Plains Mental Health, Hays, will mentor Tera Mills, Arkansas senior. Dr. Donnette Noble, assistant professor Roosevelt University, Chicago, will mentor Lizette Avalos, Liberal senior.

The VALUE program is a one-year curricular and co-curricular program for upper-division students supported by the Omer G. Voss family. Offered by the Department of Leadership Studies, student scholars are paired with mentors in the field of expertise in which students will complete their projects. Field tracks include corporate leadership, civic or non-profit leadership, and leadership research.

Sound Off!