Garden City, Wilson students elected to lead FHSU’s student government for 2015-16

Ulises Gonzalez, Garden City junior, and Molly Morgan, Wilson junior, were elected as president and vice president, respectively, of the Fort Hays State University Student Government Association in elections held April 8-9 for the 2015-2016 year.

Nineteen new senators were also elected: 11 in the College of Arts and Sciences, five in the College of Business and Entrepreneurship, and three in the College of Health and Life Sciences.

A constitutional amendment also passed which allows a shift to fall rather than spring elections for FHSU student government. The change was proposed to allow an opportunity for the incoming class of freshmen to run for office and to vote. A committee will be formed to begin the process.

Another ballot measure was approved establishing a dedicated student activity fee to fund athletic bands, campus intramurals and the Spirit Squad (Tiger Debs Dance Team). The increase will be $1.41 per credit hour: 63 cents for athletic bands, 50 cents for intramurals and 28 cents for the Spirit Squad. The measure included a provision that the fee will be reviewed annually by the Student Senate.

Gonzalez, the SGA president-elect, is a 2012 graduate of Garden City High School. He is a double major in management and in tourism and hospitality management. Vice President-elect Morgan, a 2012 Wilson High School graduate, is a political science major.

“Molly and I, in a collaborative effort, will strive to put the interests of the students first while maximizing their fees at a minimal cost,” said Gonzalez. “We are in this with the students and for the students.”

Gonzalez has previously participated in the SGA’s allocations process, the Big Event (a full day of service activities in the community), Tiger Day at the Capitol, and many other local and statewide initiatives. During his term as a senator, Gonzalez also served as chair of the Student Affairs Committee.

Morgan has been a part of the Student Government Association for three years as a senator for the College of Arts and Sciences. She has also served as the SGA’s administrative assistant and as chair of both the Senate Affairs Committee and the Appropriations Committee. This semester, she was elected chair of the Allocations Committee for the Fiscal Year 2016 funding process.

New senators are listed by hometown:

BELOIT: Emily Brandt, sophomore majoring in political science.
ELLSWORTH: Anna Hand, junior majoring in political science.
EVANS, Colo.: Morgen Pitts, junior majoring in management.
FREDERICK, Colo.: Rebecca Vincent, sophomore majoring in organizational leadership.
GARDEN CITY: Yoana Cruz, freshman majoring in biology.
GODDARD: Kenton Lindsey, sophomore majoring in mathematics.
HAYS: Nicholas Glassman, sophomore majoring in marketing.
Tandra Johnson, senior majoring in finance.
Spencer McCue, sophomore majoring in biology.
HAYSVILLE: Vivian Agnew, sophomore majoring in political science.
LEOTI: Parker Hassell, sophomore majoring in political science.
LYONS: Samuel DeVore, senior majoring in physics.
ROELAND PARK: Stephen Foster, sophomore majoring in management.
TOPEKA: Stephany Gress, senior majoring in political science.
Morgan Mitchiner, freshman.
VALLEY CENTER: Sierra Archer, sophomore majoring in communication sciences and disorders.
VICTORIA: Cody Scheck, senior majoring in accounting.
WICHITA: Aiyana Smith, freshman majoring in political science.
WILSON: Ashley Templeton, junior majoring in organizational leadership.

One Reply to “Garden City, Wilson students elected to lead FHSU’s student government for 2015-16”

  1. Congrats to those elected, even though the presidential ticket ran unopposed. FHSU election seems to mirror the voter apathy across the country.

Sound Off!