Eight Earn MIAA Academic Honors from Tiger Volleyball


Eight Earn MIAA Academic Honors from Tiger Volleyball
11/30/2016 | Volleyball
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The Fort Hays State volleyball team had eight student-athletes named to the MIAA Academic Honor Roll for the 2016 season. Earning honor are Crystal Whitten, Rebekah Spainhour, Megan Anderson, Abby Groth, Sydney Dixon, Ari Jacobsen, Kailey Klibbe and Callie Christensen. Christensen also received the Scholar Athlete Award for her performance in the classroom and the court.

To be a member of the MIAA Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and have at least two terms of attendance at the certifying member institution, excluding summer terms. To earn the Scholar-Athlete Award, student-athletes must earn All-MIAA status in their respective sport and carry a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Christensen, a junior from Raymond, Neb., earned Scholar-Athlete honors after being named second team All-MIAA. She led the MIAA with 149 blocks this season and is majoring in International Business while maintaining a 3.80 GPA.

Below is the list of the eight FHSU volleyball players earning the honor, along with their majors.

First Name Last Name Class GPA Major
Crystal Whitten Sr. 3.36 Marketing
Rebekah Spainhour Sr. 3.48 Biology
Megan Anderson Sr. 3.20 Early Childhood Development
Abby Groth So. 3.65 Nursing
Sydney Dixon So. 3.29 Medical Diagnostic Imaging
Ari Jacobsen So. 3.66 Nursing
Kailey Klibbe So. 4.00 Social Work
**Callie Christensen Jr. 3.80 International Business

** – Indicates MIAA Scholar-Athlete Recipient


Sound Off!

%d bloggers like this: