Volleyball earns team academic honor


LEXINGTON, Ky. – The Fort Hays State volleyball team has received the American Volleyball Coaches Association Team Academic Award for the sixth-consecutive year, announced Monday (July 20) by the association. The Tigers turned in a team GPA of 3.54 over the 2019-20 school year, their highest mark over at least the last six seasons. FHSU was one of 171 NCAA Division II programs to earn the distinction.

The award honors teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.00 scale.

The high team GPA was aided by 13 Tigers earning a spot on the MIAA Academic Honor Roll (3.0 GPA or higher), including Paige Baird, Tatum Bartels, Kylie Brown, Morgan Christiansen, Katie Darnell, Emily Ellis, Jordan Eshbaugh, Mykah Eshbaugh, Abbie Hayes, Isabelle Reynolds, Kayla Vitztum, Morgan West and Taylor White.

Additionally, Paige Baird, Tatum Bartels, Katie Darnell, Emily Ellis and Kayla Vitztum all earned the MIAA Academic Excellence Award for maintaining a perfect 4.00 GPA, while Bartels and Isabelle Reynolds both picked up the Scholar-Athlete Award by earning All-MIAA honors and carrying a GPA of at least 3.50.

Sound Off!

%d bloggers like this: