Inman Named One of Three Finalists for the MIAA Ken B. Jones Award


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Fort Hays State junior wrestler Jon Inman has been named a finalist for the MIAA Ken B. Jones Award for 2016, the conference’s honor for both its male and female student-athletes of the year. Inman joins Emporia State’s Brent Wilson (football) and Northeastern State’s Eric Crawford (soccer) as men’s finalists, while women’s finalists include Heavin Warner (Central Missouri – track and field), Natalie O’Keefe (Southwest Baptist – track and field), and Yanique Ellington (Lincoln – track and field).

The award, which is in its 23rd year, is named in honor of the man who served as the MIAA’s first full-time commissioner for 16 years. Jones retired in 1997 and passed away in May 2004. He was inducted into the MIAA Hall of Fame in the inaugural Class of 2010.

Inman put together a very impressive junior season, earning All-America honors at 184 pounds with a fifth-place finish at nationals. He put together a staggering record of 38-4, with his only losses against Division II competition occurring at the NCAA Super Regional and NCAA Championships. Inman finished the year 25-3 against Division II wrestlers. He was the MIAA champion at 184 pounds for the second straight year.

Inman has also been impressive in the classroom for FHSU with a 3.85 GPA as a Justice Studies major. He is a three-time D2 Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic First Team selection and MIAA Scholar-Athlete recipient. Recently, Inman was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team for At-Large sports, only one of 11 selections in the region to be considered for CoSIDA Academic All-America status.

Beth Bohuslavsky of Fort Hays State women’s basketball was one of 12 women nominated for the award this year. Bohuslavsky had an impressive resume as a three-time All-MIAA performer while carrying a 3.89 grade point average as an Elementary Education major. She helped FHSU to an amazing record of 98-25 over four years and the program’s first-ever WBCA No. 1 national ranking.

A 15-member panel of athletics directors, senior woman administrators, faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors – including a representative from each member institution – select the finalists.

Each nominee is judged in four areas with a certain percentage of weight going to each category: 2015-16 athletic accomplishments (45%); career academic accomplishments (25%); 2015-16 campus/community service (15%); and career athletic and service achievements (15%).

The three men and women finalists are invited to Kansas City for the MIAA Awards Ceremony, which will be held June 1 at the Truman Forum Auditorium at the Kansas City Public Library – Plaza Branch at 4801 Main Street, Kansas City, Missouri. At the event one male and one female will be announced as the winners of the Ken B. Jones Award. The awards program begins at 7 pm.

Here is the  link with the accomplishments that have been listed by the nominee’s school for each of the three men’s finalists, 2016 Men’s Ken B. Jones Finalists

Sound Off!