Tigers Land Eight on All-MIAA Team; Castorino Named Player of the Year

FHSU Sports Information Department

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Fort Hays State had eight players named to the 2015 All-MIAA Men’s Soccer Team, released on Tuesday (Nov. 10). The Tigers had four first team selections, headed by MIAA Player of the Year Mauricio Castorino.

Joining Castorino on the first team are Maurizio Costa, David Lucio, and Killian Gorman. Second team selections go to Michael Yantz, Luan Silva, and Anthony Hernandez. Kyle Markovits received an honorable mention selection.

Castorino, a sophomore forward from Asuncion, Paraguay, led the MIAA in points during the regular season with 26, accumulating nine goals and eight assists. He had a .231 shot percentage for the season, including a .538 shots on goal percentage. He had two game-winning goals as well. Castorino adds Player of the Year honors in the conference after earning MIAA Freshman of the Year honors last year.

Costa, a sophomore forward from Asuncion, Paraguay, tied Castorino for the team lead in goals with nine. He added one assist to finish the regular season with 19 points. He was a perfect 4-of-4 on penalty kicks and had three game-winning goals. He matched Castorino in shot percentage (.231) and had a .436 shots on goal percentage.

Lucio, a senior from Wichita, Kan., grabs the second All-MIAA honor of his career as a first-teamer this year in the midfield. Lucio finished the regular season with three goals and two assists for eight points. His 1,384 minutes ranks fourth on the team and he has two game-winning goals to his credit this year. He was a second-team selection last year.

Gorman, a sophomore from Manhattan, Kan., earned first-team honors at defender. Gorman went the distance throughout the season for the Tigers. He joins Michael Yantz as the only two on the team to play every minute of the season. Gorman helped the Tigers allow 1.23 goals per match this season and post five shutouts this season.

Yantz, a sophomore from Warsaw, Ind., earned second team honors at goalkeeper. He played all 1,683 minutes this year and finished the regular season with a record of 12-5-1. He allowed 1.23 goals per match with 58 saves and a save percentage of .716. He had five shutouts for the season.

Silva, a sophomore from Highlands Ranch, Colo., earned second team honors at defender. Silva is a bit more of an offensive minded defender who finished with two goals and two assists in the regular season. He delivered one game-winning goal.

Hernandez, a junior from Oklahoma City, earned second team honors in the midfield. He ranked third on the team in goals with five and added two assists to rank third in points (12) as well. He posted a .552 shots on goal percentage.

Markovits, a senior from Austin, Texas, received an honorable mention nod in the midfield. He finished the year with one goal and one assist, while logging 1,122 minutes.

Below is the entire 2015 All-MIAA Men’s Soccer Team

Mauricio Castorino, F, Fort Hays State

Blair Lyons, F, Upper Iowa & Joseph Garcia, MF, Northeastern State

Jason Carlson, Upper Iowa

GK: Connor Rortvedt, So., Upper Iowa
GK: Eric Shephard, Sr., Northeastern State
D: Eric Crawford, Sr., Northeastern State**
D: Killian Gorman, So., Fort Hays State
D: Hugo Alves, Sr., Upper Iowa
D: Logan Dahnert, So., Upper Iowa
MF: Johnny McBeth, So., Upper Iowa**
MF: David Lucio, Sr., Fort Hays State
MF: Alfredo Paez-Pumar, Sr., Lindenwood
MF: Trevor Reed, So., Northeastern State
F: Mauricio Castorino, So., Fort Hays State**
F: Andre Hayne, Sr., Lindenwood**
F: Ryan Pinkerton, Jr., Upper Iowa
F: Maurizio Costa, So., Fort Hays State
F: Crosby Lee, Sr., Northeastern State
Results reflect ties in the voting
**Unanimous Selection

GK: Michael Yantz, So., Fort Hays State
D: Steven Hutchison, Sr., Lindenwood
D: Sebastian Smith, Sr., Upper Iowa
D: Luan Silva, So., Fort Hays State
D: Paul Samia, Sr., Northeastern State
D: Josh Robinson, So., Southwest Baptist
MF: Anthony Hernandez, Jr., Fort Hays State
MF: Joseph Garcia, Fr., Northeastern State
MF: Gabriel Caetano, So., Upper Iowa
MF: Leandro Pena, Sr., Upper Iowa
F: Nijaz Muratovic, Jr., Lindenwood
F: Jonathan Guzman, Jr., Northeastern State
F: Garrett Gibson, Jr., Southwest Baptist
Results reflect ties in the voting

Fort Hays State; Kyle Markovits, MF
Lindenwood: Stefan Andric, MF
Northeastern State: Bailey Weeks, D; Josue Morales, MF
Upper Iowa: Blair Lyons, F

Sound Off!