FHSU Men’s Cross Country Picked Fourth In MIAA Preseason Coaches Poll

FHSU Sports Information Department

The Fort Hays State men’s cross country team was picked fourth in the 2015 MIAA Preseason Coaches Poll, released on Thursday (Aug. 27). Coaches across the conference agree that the Tigers should improve on their seventh-place finish at the MIAA Championships in 2014. Even one coach in the conference voted FHSU as the favorite.

Fort Hays State returns their top two runners, Cory Keehn and Jonny Bernasky, who redshirted in 2014. With both fully healthy and a solid group of returners from last year, the Tigers are primed to make plenty of noise at the MIAA Championships this year. Keehn and Bernasky were both All-MIAA performers in 2013 and Keehn was the MIAA Champion individually in 2012.

Add in 2014 All-MIAA performer Isaac Williams and Colby (Kan.) Community College transfer Michael Kinuthia, the Tigers will have several strong runners up front. Kinuthia transferred to FHSU from Colby Community College for the Spring 2015 semester, but he ran cross country at Colby last year and won the Region 6 and KJCCC individual championship. He then earned All-American honors by finishing eighth overall at the NJCAA Championships. Kinuthia was an All-MIAA performer in track and field for the Tigers this past spring.

Troy Wineinger had a breakout season for the Tigers last year, nearly grabbing All-MIAA honors by finishing 23rd at the conference championship in 2014. Ryan Hopkins, Seth Parres, and Brock Elgin also had great seasons, contributing to the team scoring on a regular basis.

If this year’s team stays healthy, head coach Jason McCullough feels they can compete for a conference championship. The Tiger men won the MIAA Championship in 2012.

The Tigers host the FHSU Alumni Run at the Sand Plum Nature Trail, just outside the west edge of Victoria, Kan., on Saturday, August 29 at 9:30 am. Bethany College will be coming to compete with the Tigers in the exhibition event.


2015 MIAA Preseason Men’s Coaches Poll

1. Nebraska-Kearney (6) 58
2. Pittsburg State 52
3. Missouri Southern (1) 47
4. Fort Hays State (1) 45
5. Northwest Missouri 37
6. Central Missouri 36
7. Southwest Baptist 28
8. Lindenwood 12
9. Emporia State 11

Sound Off!