Three Tigers Named to Daktronics All-Central Region Women’s Soccer Team

Fort Hays State had three women named to the Daktronics All-Central Region Soccer Team, released on Monday (Nov. 24). Earning first team honors as a defender was Mallory Diederich, while second team selections went to Kristen Thompson at goalkeeper and Hailey Davey at forward. The Daktronics All-Region Team is voted on by sports information directors within the Central Region for women’s soccer.

Diederich has played every minute for the Tigers in 2014, totaling 1,887 minutes in 20 starts. A native of Topeka, Kan., she scored three goals with two assists for a total of eight points. A junior center back for the Tiger defense, Diederich she was an All-MIAA First Team selection. She will now be placed on the All-America ballot after earning first team honors.

Thompson, redshirt-freshman from Manhattan, Kan., also went the distance for FHSU throughout the season, playing all 1,887 minutes at goalkeeper for the Tigers. She finished the year with just a 0.62 goals against average and recorded 11 shutouts, both school records. She posted a record of 13-5-2 in her first year between the pipes. She adds this honor to an All-MIAA Third Team selection.

Davey, a senior from Evergreen, Colo., ranked second for the Tigers in points with 20, totaling five goals and a team-best 10 assists. She tied the FHSU single-season record for assists and game-winning goals (4). She also set single-game records for assists twice on the year with three against Sioux Falls and Northwest Missouri State. She started all 20 matches for FHSU and earned All-MIAA First Team honors.

Below is the Daktronics All-Central Region Team for 2014…

Daktronics Central Region Player of the Year
Southwest Baptist junior forward Karla Jamison (Kansas City, Mo.)

Daktronics All-Central Region First Team:

Pos Name School Yr Hometown
GK Ana Dilkes Central Missouri Fr. Wichita, Kan.
D Emily Eldridge Central Missouri So. Bucyrus, Kan.
D Mallory Diederich Fort Hays State Jr. Topeka, Kan.
D Abby Rhodes Central Missouri So. Olathe, Kan.
D Megan Helberg Minnesota Duluth Sr. Lakeville, Minn.
MF Kate Jamison Southwest Baptist Jr. Kansas City, Mo.
MF Madie Edwards Upper Iowa Jr. Crystal Lake, Ill.
MF Whitney Snow Southwest Baptist Fr. Camdenton, Mo.
MF Bekah Stewart Southern Nazarene Sr. Miami, Okla.
F Maureen Stormont Minnesota Duluth Sr. Stillwater, Minn.
F Karla Jamison Southwest Baptist Jr. Kansas City, Mo.
F Julie Ireland Central Missouri Jr. Lake St. Louis, Mo.
F Haley Hatcher Ouachita Baptist Jr. Maumelle, Ark.

Daktronics All-Central Region Second Team:

Pos Name School Yr Hometown
GK Kristen Thompson Fort Hays State Fr. Manhattan, Kan.
D Margaret Glutz East Central Sr. Santee, Calif.
D Quinn Tookey Central Oklahoma Jr. Colleyville, Texas
D Amy Bolton Southwest Baptist So. Sheffield, England
D Charlotte Eastman* Southwestern Oklahoma State Jr. Salisbury, England
D Emily Burch* Northeastern State Jr. Frisco, Texas
MF Nicole Pond Central Missouri Jr. Peculiar, Mo.
MF Jessica Lynch Northwestern Oklahoma State Jr. Dublin, Ireland
MF Autumn Hayes Southwest Minnesota State Sr. La Crescent, Minn.
MF Allie Macdonald Northern State Jr. Hartford, S.D.
F Sarah Stram Bemidji State So. Elk Grove Village, Ill.
F Miranda Cadena Southwest Minnesota State Jr. Highland, Calif.
F Hailey Davey Fort Hays State Sr. Evergreen, Colo.
F Hannah Pyle Central Missouri So. Lenexa, Kan.

* Tie in voting

Sound Off!

%d bloggers like this: