Soccer Teams Land 21 on MIAA Academic Honor Roll; Hymer, Makatura Named Scholar-Athletes

Fort Hays State men’s and women’s soccer combined to land 21 student-athletes on the MIAA Academic Honor Roll for soccer, released on Thursday (Nov. 20). The men’s team had 11 earn the honor, while the women’s team had 10. Earning MIAA Scholar-Athlete honors were Eric Hymer and Gabrielle Makatura.

To be a member of the MIAA Academic Honor Roll, athletes must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and have at least two terms of attendance at the certifying member institution, excluding summer terms. To earn Scholar-Athlete honors, athletes must earn All-MIAA status in their respective sport and carry a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Members of the men’s team on the honor roll were Joe Albright, Diego Cabral, Damion Cooper, Kent Freund, Killian Gorman, Eric Hymer, Carlos Linares, Addison Pauler, Tyler VanCamp, Drew Wilson, and Michael Yantz.

Members of the women’s team on the honor roll were Ember Albertson, Jamie Babyak, Hailey Davey, Mallory Diederich, Dani Harris, Hannah Jurgens, Regan Lawler, Gabrielle Makatura, Margaret Meier, and Laura Regnier.

Hymer of the men’s squad was an All-MIAA First Team selection at defender for the third straight year, so he earns Scholar-Athlete honors for the third time. The senior from Overland Park, Kan., holds a 3.68 GPA as a Marketing major. Makatura of the women’s squad was an All-MIAA Honorable Mention selection at defender. A junior from Lakewood, Colo., she holds a 3.77 GPA as an International Business major.

Below is the complete list of FHSU soccer players earning the honor, along with their majors.

Name School Sport Yr. GPA Major Hometown
Ember Albertson FHSU WSOC Jr. 3.54 Psychology Littleton Colo.
Jamie Babyak FHSU WSOC Sr. 3.46 HHP (Recreation/Sport Management) Austin Texas
Hailey Davey FHSU WSOC Sr. 3.10 Mathematics (Teaching) Evergreen Colo.
Mallory Diederich FHSU WSOC Jr. 3.32 Mathematics Topeka Kan.
Dani Harris FHSU WSOC Jr. 3.59 Psychology Centennial Colo.
Hannah Jurgens FHSU WSOC So. 3.34 HHP (Sport/Exercise Therapy) Lincoln Neb.
Regan Lawler FHSU WSOC So. 3.17 Elementary Education Kansas City Mo.
*Gabrielle Makatura FHSU WSOC Jr. 3.77 International Business (Economics) Lakewood Colo.
Margaret Meier FHSU WSOC Sr. 3.78 Elementary Education Olathe Kan.
Laura Regnier FHSU WSOC Sr. 3.18 Marketing Colorado Springs Colo.
Joe Albright FHSU MSOC Jr. 3.22 Biology (Pre-Med/Pre-Dentistry) Winfield Kan.
Diego Cabral FHSU MSOC Sr. 3.04 Finance (Financial Planning) Asuncion Paraguay
Damion Cooper FHSU MSOC So. 3.44 HHP (Recreation) Salina Kan.
Kent Freund FHSU MSOC Sr. 3.09 Health and Human Performance Garland Texas
Killian Gorman FHSU MSOC R-Fr. 3.24 Health and Human Performance Manhattan Kan.
*Eric Hymer FHSU MSOC Sr. 3.68 Marketing Overland Park Kan.
Carlos Linares FHSU MSOC Sr. 3.37 Computer Science Aurora Colo.
Addison Pauler FHSU MSOC Jr. 3.09 Radiologic Technology Wichita Kan.
Tyler VanCamp FHSU MSOC R-Fr. 3.03 HHP (Sport/Exercise Therapy) Fort Wayne Ind.
Drew Wilson FHSU MSOC So. 3.15 HHP (Recreation) Overland Park Kan.
Michael Yantz FHSU MSOC R-Fr. 3.81 Finance Warsaw Ind.

*Earned MIAA Scholar-Athlete Award

Sound Off!