Five from men’s soccer earn regional honors


Fort Hays State Men’s Soccer had five individuals named to the D2CCA All-Central Region Team, released on Tuesday (Nov. 15). Earning first-team honors were Blake ArndtEthan Doud, and Haruya Iwasaki, while Callum Frogson and Jackson Elgas earned second-team honors.

Arndt is now a two-time D2CCA All-Central Region First Team selection at forward. He earned the same distinction last year. Arndt is also a three-time All-GAC/MIAA First Team selection. He led the Tigers in goals (6) and points (15) in 2022. He has a total of 55 points in his career at FHSU with 24 goals and seven assists over three seasons.

Doud earns his first all-region selection from the D2CCA at midfielder, a first-team pick after earning GAC/MIAA Midfielder of the Year, All-GAC/MIAA First Team honors, and GAC/MIAA All-Tournament Team honors. Doud produced four points for the 2022 season with one goal and two assists and played 1,621, playing all 90 minutes in 12 contests.

Iwasaki is now a two-time all-region selection from the D2CCA, receiving first-team honors this year after a second-team pick last year. He had two goals in 2022 to go with a team-high 1,646 minutes played. He played in all 90 minutes of 17 contests and has helped the team to a 1.00 goals against average for the season.

Frogson is a second-team selection as a midfielder in his first year with the Tigers. He ranked second on the team in points (13) and goals scored (5) and provided three assists in 2022. He had a strong .455 shot percentage overall (5 goals, 11 shots), scoring on all five of his shots on goal for the season.

Elgas is a second-team selection at defender in his first year with the Tigers. He ranked fourth on the team in points with eight, accumulating two goals and four assists. His four assists ranked second on the team.

Below is the 2022 D2CCA All-Central Region Team.

2022 D2CCA Men’s Soccer All-Central Region Team
First Team

GKDeclan ViljoenRogers StateSo.Auckland, New Zealand
FFlynn SemmerlingNortheastern StateSr.Hamburg, Germany
FUnaiz ShajaniSouthern NazareneSo.Nairobi, Kenya
FBlake ArndtFort Hays StateSr.Wichita, Kan.
FGeorge RobinsonRogers StateJr.Maidstone, England
MEthan DoudFort Hays StateJr.Wichita, Kan.
MShun KushimaSouthern NazareneSr.Yokohama, Japan
MLuke MorganRogers StateSr.Nottinghamshire, Iceland
MJosh MillaRogers StateSo.McKinney, Texas
DSebastian HernandezRogers StateSr.Broken Arrow, Okla.
DAlvaro SanchezSouthern NazareneJr.Toledo, Spain
DRyan McCullyNortheastern StateSr.Wichita, Kan.
DHaruya IwasakiFort Hays StateJr.Tokyo, Japan

Second Team

GKMichele BarlettaSouthern NazareneSr.Johannesburg, South Africa
FBruno FerreiraSouthern NazareneSr.Sao Paolo, Brazil
FMarcos VasalloRogers StateSo.Madrid, Spain
FMartin MartinezNortheastern StateFr.Tulsa, Okla.
FDaniel TrojmanSouthern NazareneJr.Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
MStefano SilvaHardingSr.Vitoria, Brazil
MScott WoodsNortheastern StateSr.Tonsberg, Norway
MGrant KingRogers StateSr.Tulsa, Okla.
MCallum FrogsonFort Hays StateFr.Nottingham, England
DTrindon TurnerRogers StateSo.Edmond, Okla.
DKazuki OkazakiSouthern NazareneSr.Matsumoto, Japan
DEric RomeroSouthern NazareneSr.Dallas, Texas
DJackson ElgasFort Hays StateFr.Leawood, Kan.

Central Region Player of the Year: Flynn Semmerling, Northeastern State

%d bloggers like this: