Both XC teams earn all-academic honors


NEW ORLEANS – The Fort Hays State men’s and women’s cross country teams were both named USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams by the coaches association on Thursday (Jan. 27). In addition, five individuals earned All-Academic honors for their efforts during the 2021 season.

Brooke Navarro, Emily Salmans, Abigail Stewart and Jaycee Vath all received All-Academic status from the women’s team while Jaret Pfizenmaier grabbed the award from the men’s team. This is the third-such honor for Stewart, while Navarro and Salmans both picked up their second USTFCCCA All-Academic Award.

This is the first time the awards have been distributed since the 2019 season after the 2020 campaign was canceled. The FHSU women’s team has earned All-Academic honors each time it has been distributed since 2005, picking up 15-straight awards. The men’s team has 10 such awards over that span, including each of the last seven honors dating back to 2014.

The women’s team compiled a team GPA of 3.60, while the men recorded a team GPA of 3.17.

In order to qualify for All-Academic team distinction, teams must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, including the most recent grading period and compile a team score at their respective regional championship meet, among other qualifiers. A total of 98 men’s teams earned the honor this season, while 111 women’s teams picked up the distinction.

In order to qualify for individual All-Academic distinction, student athletes must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale and finish in the top-30 percent of their respective regional championship meet, among other qualifiers. There were 357 women from 104 different institutions recognized this season and 275 men from 98 schools.

Sound Off!