Men’s basketball receives academic honors


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Fort Hays State Men’s Basketball received the NABC Team Academic Excellence Award for the 2020-21 season. To receive the honor, a team must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better for the 2020-21 academic year. Fort Hays State and Central Missouri were the only two programs from the MIAA to receive the honor. A total of 253 teams in NCAA Divisions I, II, and III, NAIA, and two-year colleges received the honor.

Fort Hays State also had four individuals named to the NABC Honors Court. Student-athletes named to the Honors Court must have a GPA of 3.2 or higher, have at least one year matriculated at their current institution, and academically be a junior or senior as an undergraduate student. Graduate students are not eligible for the award. Individuals from FHSU named to the Honors Court included Gabe Pieschl, Devin Walker, Nyjee Wright, and Jackson Miller. Since Jared Vitztum is a graduate student, he is no longer eligible for the Honors Court even though his GPA is far above a 3.2.

Sound Off!

%d bloggers like this: