FHSU Hosts MIAA Cross Country Championships Saturday at Sand Plum Nature Trail

FHSU Sports Information Department

2015 MIAA Cross Country Championships
Sand Plum Nature Trail – Victoria, Kan.
Women’s 6K Race – 10 am; Men’s 8K Race – 11 am; Awards Ceremony – 12:15 pm

Fort Hays State hosts the 2015 MIAA Cross Country Championships on Saturday morning (Oct. 24) at Sand Plum Nature Trail, just outside of Victoria, Kan. Nine men’s teams and 11 women’s teams will compete in the event. Missouri Southern is the defending conference champion in both men’s and women’s cross country.

The event is set to begin at 10 am with the women’s 6K race. The men follow with their 8K race at 11 am. The awards presentation will be held at 12:15 pm.

Tyler Rush of Missouri Southern is the top returner of the men’s top 10 finishers at the 2014 MIAA Championships in Bolivar, Mo. A sophomore last year, Rush finished second in a time of 24:47.04. Other returners from last year’s top 10 include Austin Bogina of Pittsburg State, Wick Cunningham of Northwest Missouri State, Drew Cargill of Southwest Baptist, and Nicholas Stewart of Lindenwood.

On the women’s side, Elizabeth Luckel of Southwest Baptist is the top returner of the top 10 finishers at the 2014 MIAA Championships. A junior last year, Luckel won the individual title on her home course with a time of 21:38.54, over 13 seconds faster than the next finisher. She will be a favorite for the title once again this year. Other returners from last year’s top 10 include Hannah DeVries of Pittsburg State, Emily Harris of Missouri Southern, Kindra Emberton of Missouri Southern, Maddie Brown of Central Oklahoma, and Katherine Sitzes of Southwest Baptist.

Fort Hays State’s Cory Keehn looks for the fourth All-MIAA honor of his career. After earning honorable mention status his freshman year, Keehn was an All-MIAA performer as a sophomore and junior. He won the individual MIAA championship as a sophomore in 2012 and then took 10th as a junior in 2013. Following a redshirt year in 2014, Keehn is back in 2015 as one of the top runners in the MIAA.

On the women’s side for FHSU, Chelsea Jackson and Micki Krzesinski each earned honorable mention all-conference status in 2014. Jackson finished 11th and Krzesinski finished 18th at last year’s conference meet. Both have been frontrunners for the Tigers this year as they look to break into the top 10 overall.

MIAA Championship Central Page


%d bloggers like this: