Tigers Receiving Votes in First Regular Season AFCA Poll

FHSU Sports Information Department

WACO, Texas – Fort Hays State is receiving votes in the first regular season release of the American Football Coaches Association Division II Poll, released on Monday (Sept. 7). The Tigers are coming off a 30-29 win over Central Oklahoma last week, a team that received votes in the preseason poll. Fort Hays State received two votes in Monday’s edition.

This is the second straight year the Tigers have been among teams receiving votes in the poll. Fort Hays State received votes in the poll in 2014 after its upset win over then No. 8 ranked Pittsburg State. Prior to 2014, Fort Hays State had never received votes in the AFCA Poll as the organization did not release a poll prior to 2000.

Fort Hays State hosts its home opener this week on Thursday night (Sept. 10) at 7 pm. The Tigers take on Northeastern State at Lewis Field Stadium in the Eagle Communications Kickoff Classic.

Below is the AFCA Coaches’ Poll for Monday, September 7, 2015.

1. Minnesota St.
2. Colorado St.-Pueblo
3. West Georgia
4. Northwest Missouri St.
5. Pittsburg St. (Kan.)
6. Ferris St. (Mich.)
7. Ohio Dominican
8. Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.)
9. Minnesota-Duluth
10. Delta St. (Miss.)
11. Ouachita Baptist (Ark.)
12. Angelo St. (Texas)
13. North Alabama
14. Valdosta St. (Ga.)
15. Sioux Falls (S.D.)
16. Colorado School of Mines
17. Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
18. Texas A&M-Commerce
19. Harding (Ark.)
20. Grand Valley St. (Mich.)
21. Slippery Rock (Pa.)
22. Concord (W.Va.)
23. Indianapolis (Ind.)
24. Ashland (Ohio)
25. Shepherd (W.Va.)

Dropped Out: Bloomsburg (Pa.) (11), Winston-Salem St. (N.C.) (20), West Chester (Pa.) (23)

Others Receiving Votes: Tuskegee (Ala.), 56; Michigan Tech, 50; North Carolina-Pembroke, 39; Bloomsburg (Pa.), 36; Midwestern St. (Texas), 35; Central Missouri, 22; Carson-Newman (Tenn.), 21; Newberry (S.C.), 14; West Chester (Pa.), 13; Henderson St. (Ark.), 12; Tarleton St. (Texas), 12; California (Pa.), 10; LIU-Post (N.Y.), 6; Virginia Union, 5; Gannon (Pa.), 4; Charleston (W.Va.), 3; Humboldt St. (Calif.), 3; Stonehill (Mass.), 3; Fort Hays St. (Kan.), 2; Bowie St. (Md.), 1; St. Cloud State (Minn.), 1.


Sound Off!