FHSU’s American Democracy Project to conduct candidate election forum

The American Democracy Project at Fort Hays State University and the Hays Area Chamber of Commerce will conduct an election forum beginning at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, March 24, in the Black and Gold Room of the FHSU Memorial Union.

Local candidates Henry Schwaller IV, Scott Simpson, James Meier, Lance Jones, Gregory Schwartz, Sarah Rankin, Leslie Blagrave, Miranda Fox, Jerald Braun, Luke Oborny and Paul Adams will attend.

The forum will begin with Hays City Commission candidates Schwaller, Simpson, Meier and Jones. The candidates will give an opening statement. The moderator, Lawrence Gould, professor of political science at FHSU, will follow with prepared questions and questions from the public.

Beginning at 8 p.m., USD 489 Board of Education candidates Schwartz, Rankin, Blagrave, Fox, Braun, Oborny and Adams will give opening statements. The moderator, Deborah Ludwig, dean of Forsyth Library at FHSU, will follow with prepared questions and questions from the public.

The forum will be streamed live at hayspost.com.

Other sponsors for the forum, along with the American Democracy Project and the Hays Chamber, are the FHSU Student Government Association, the Department of Political Science, the College of Education and Technology, the Center For Civic Leadership, and Midwest Energy.

All FHSU students and registered voters within the Hays community are invited to attend this free event.

Additional information is available by contacting the ADP or Morgan Lawrence, Dighton senior and co-coordinator, at 785-628-5399 or by email at mjlawrence2@fhsu.edu.

Sound Off!