Lehman named Daktronics Central Region Most Outstanding Player

Fort Hays State University’s Kate Lehman was named the Most Outstanding Player and a First Team selection to headline the 2014-15 Daktronics/Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-Region Team, announced Thursday by the organization.

Lehman was also the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year and has been one of the top players in the nation this season. Sporting a double-double average of 19.1 points and 10.3 rebounds per game this season, the senior has scored in double figures 28 times this season and has recorded 18 double doubles, adding to her career total of 55. She has averaged over 10 points, 10 blocks and 4 rebounds the previous two seasons, and is the team’s leading scorer in 23 games and the leading rebounder in 27 games, reaching the 20-point margin in 13 contests. She also has one triple double this season and three in her career.

The Newton, native is the only player in NCAA Division II history to reach 1,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 500 blocks for a career, ranks second all-time in NCAA Division II career blocks (506) and fifth all-time in career blocks among any division in NCAA Women’s Basketball history. Lehman was a First Team All-Region selection in 2013-14 and a Second Team pick in 2012-13.

The Tigers, 28-3 overall, secured the MIAA Regular Season Championship by going 18-1 in conference play this year and reached the MIAA Tournament Final last week against Emporia State. FHSU held the No. 1 ranking in the Central Region Rankings all throughout the three releases leading up to the selection show, and was picked to host NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Tournament Central Regional this weekend. The Tigers are making their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2004-05, and second overall since becoming members of Division II in 1991-91.

Lehman will now advance to the All-American ballot with the teams announced later in the month. The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., and is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America.

The complete Daktronics/Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-Region Team

First Team
Name School Yr. Hometown
Kate Lehman, Fort Hays State (Sr., Newton, Kan.)
Shaunteva Ashley, Augustana (Sr., Sioux Falls, S.D.)
Lizzy Jeronimus, Pittsburg State (Sr., Lenexa, Kan.)
Arielle Saunders, Harding (Sr., Valley Springs, Ark.)
Fatima Adams, Arkansas Tech (Jr., Bryan, Texas)

Second Team
Rachel Krogman, Northern State (Sr., Elkton, S.D.)
Jordan Spencer, Wayne State (Sr., Omaha, Neb.)
Aminata Fall, Southern Nazarene (Sr., Dakar, Senegal)
Aungelique Sledge, Henderson State (Gr., West Helena, Ark.)
Anika Whiting, Concordia-St .Paul (Sr., Ashland, Wisc.)

Central Region Most Outstanding Player
Kate Lehman, Fort Hays State (Sr., Newton, Kan.)


Sound Off!